While you may know what happens when you get pulled over for a field sobriety test, or what you should do to prepare for trial, you may not realize how much a DWI conviction will affect the rest of your life. For example, a first DWI conviction can cause your insurance premiums to go up by thousands of dollars, and may even force you to be insured by a different insurance company. In Texas, prior DWI convictions stay on your record (and can be counted against you when you are being sentenced for another DUI/DWI offense) for good. Note that an earlier version of this law had a 10-year limitation, but even if a defendant’s prior convictions occurred when the prior version of the law was in effect, prior convictions can still be used under the current law. Read on to learn about DWIs and insurance rates.
However, if DWI drivers want to continue driving when they get their licenses back, they are required to maintain liability coverage on their Texas car insurance policy and submit proof to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The requirement is achieved through liability limits of 306025 ($30,000 per person limit and $60,000 totals for all persons and $25,000 for property damage). This is also satisfied with one combined single liability limit for bodily injury and property damage of $60,000. These limits are the same financial responsibility for all Texas drivers.
Texas DWI insurance and SR22 filing process to reinstate license are generally the last steps before convicted persons regain their driving privileges.
DWI Insurance Texas Requirements
The Texas state required SR22 is the name of the form used to document and submit proof of this required insurance (306025) to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). A family car insurance quote and any other type of cheap TX car insurance with or without an SR22 still must satisfy Texas financial responsibility requirement and maintain these limits.
DWI Texas insurance cost
The State does not collect a fee to file form SR22. Insurance companies do collect a fee for filing SR22 typically anywhere from $0 to $50; however, Texas collects a $1,000 annual fine for 3 years from their convicted drivers. This is a small additional fee compared to the fine Texans have to pay to their State. The additional insurance premium associated with the Texas DWI insurance comes from the removal of safe driver discounts, surcharge points, and unfavorable rate tier placement.
Texas SR22 Form
The Texas SR22 form includes identifying information of the DWI driver such as their name, Texas drivers’ license number, residence address, and birth date. The Texas car insurance company information required is name, NAIC number (code), policy contract number, SR-22 case number, and the effective date of the certificate. Naturally, a signature from an authorized representative, and the date the certificate was prepared completes an SR22 car insurance Texas policy.
Completed SR-22 forms that are filed with Texas’ Department of Public Safety must be on a “hard copy” and mailed or brought. Purchasing a policy does not instantly update the Department of Public Safety Records as the actual physical form is required.
An SR-22 filing is required for two years from the date of the DWI conviction. After the form arrives at the DPS, the Texas driver’s license is eligible for reinstatement. There are no limitations on the operator’s license after reinstatement other than maintaining the required form on file for two years. Failure to maintain compliance during the required period will result in driver license and vehicle registration suspensions. All companies must inform the DPS if a policy of SR22 car insurance Texas becomes inactive for any reason.
If you are worried about the costs of a DWI conviction, you need to make sure you have a talented and experienced DWI lawyer. In any case, a talented DWI lawyer can usually get the punishments lowered or help you to not be convicted. If you have been arrested for a DWI and would like the help of an experienced DWI lawyer, you should contact us today.