Failure to Register as a Sex Offender

One of the most serious consequences of a sex crime conviction is being compelled to register as a sex offender. As unfortunate as it is, registration on the sex offender list will complicate your life and have lifelong effects. Trying to avoid these consequences by not registering will only get you in further trouble.

When you hire The Wilder Law Firm, you will be putting more than 25 years of experience in your corner fighting for you. Navigating a sex offender registration process can be difficult. Innocent mistakes can be made or the rules you have to abide by were not followed to the letter of the law. Sex offender registration is a serious situation that should not be taken lightly. Call us now at 469-551-8609 for the guidance you need.

Registering as a Sex Offender

The state of Texas requires those convicted of the following crimes to register as sex offenders:

In order to register as a sex offender, you will meet with the law enforcement agents in your place of residence and complete a sex offender registration form, provide photographs to law enforcement, and fingerprints. If you have a change of address, you are required to contact the local police department seven days prior to moving and repeat the registration process in your new community. Further, you are required to verify registration with law enforcement annually, unless you have been convicted of a violent offense, which requires verification of registration every 90 days. 

Failing to Register

Failing to register as a sex offender could be an error, or a conscious choice to not register. Common errors include: 

  • Giving false or incomplete information on your registration.
  • Registering in another state.
  • Failing to update your address.
  • Failing to contact your local police department after moving.
  • Failing to update your registration by the required date (either once a year or once every 90 days).
  • Waiting too long to register after the end of a prison sentence.
  • Registering with the wrong law enforcement agency. 

We Can Defend Failure to Register

In defending those accused of failing to register as a sex offender, attention to detail is crucial. One of the most common ways to defend against this charge is proving that you made an honest mistake in failing to register or complying with the requirements. No matter your situation, we will work to find the strongest defense for you. 

Penalties for Failing to Register as a Sex Offender

As an initial reaction to sex offender registration, people may think it is not a big deal and as a result, blow it off. The penalties for failure to register as a sex offender can be severe and are outlined in Texas Penal Code Section 62.102

If you are required to register for a 10-year period:

  • A jail sentence of 180 days to two years.
  • A fine of up to $10,000.

If you are required to register for life:

  • A prison sentence of 2-10 years.
  • A fine of up to $10,000.

If you are required to register every 90 days:

  • A prison sentence of 2-20 years.
  • A fine of up to $10,000.
Your Future is Our #1 Priority

The first step after being accused of failing to register should be to hire The Wilder Law Firm. We are a dedicated team who will support and guide you through this process. We will ensure you take the necessary steps to properly register and will work to clear up any miscommunications. Contact us immediately at 469-551-8609 for the help you need.

Free Case Evaluation

We are passionate and determined about what we do, and we fight for our clients. If you’ve found yourself or a loved one in trouble, don’t give up hope. We have a criminal defense attorney who can help.

Office

©2021 Wilder Law Firm - All Rights Reserved
Disclaimer
Privacy Policy