There are a number of factors that go into determining what the consequences for a first-time DWI in Texas are. However, assuming that there are no extenuating circumstances surrounding the charge then you can find yourself facing a Class B misdemeanor.
As a Class B misdemeanor, a first-time charge of DWI in Texas brings with it a fine of up to $3,000. Additionally, you are also looking at the possibility of a jail sentence of up to six months. Of course, a DWI is also going to result in a driver’s license suspension as well.
While this covers the basics of a DWI, we would be remiss if we didn’t take a closer look at the extenuating circumstances that can cause your first DWI to be taken even more seriously by the Texas legal system.
What Other Consequences Can You Face for a First-time DWI in Texas?
Those facing their first DWI charge could be facing more serious consequences than those listed above if the circumstances surrounding their charge included certain elements. Specifically, the law has caveats relating to your blood alcohol level, the presence of mind-altering substances, or the presence of a child.
- If you are caught driving with a BAC that is .15 or higher then the DWI is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. This means that you could be facing a maximum jail sentence of twelve months. Additionally, a conviction would also result in a driver’s license suspension
- If you are caught driving with an open container of alcohol then you could be facing a Class B or a Class A misdemeanor. Which will depend on your BAC. There is a minimum sentence of six days in jail if you are caught with an open container of alcohol, even if you blow well within the legal limits
- If you are caught driving while intoxicated and you have a child as a passenger in the vehicle then you are looking at paying a fine of up to $10,000. As a felony, we could be facing up to two years in a state jail. Your driver’s license will be suspended but you would also be exposed to any consequences that come from being convicted of a felony.
What Do I Do If I’m Charged with My First DWI?
If you’ve never been charged with a DWI before then don’t worry. The consequences you face for your first DWI aren’t too bad. But that doesn’t mean you should take them lightly. There are a number of tactics that can be used to reduce your charges or even to potentially have them dismissed. For example, if the arresting officer lacked probable cause to pull you over then you could see the case dismissed.
The best way to weigh your available options for defense is to reach out to Wilder Law Firm to learn more about how our experienced attorneys can help you through your first DWI in Texas.